AORN to Continue Webinar Series on Evidence-Based Practice

The Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) continues its series of webinars on Evidence-Based Practice, free to AORN members. All webinars are presented by Robin R. Chard, PhD, RN, CNOR, and each webinar awards one contact hour of continuing education upon completion of the webinar evaluation.

The last two webinars in the series will be held in April and May. Replays for the webinars held in January and February are available now (see below).

Part 3 in the series, "Poster Application Process," will be held on Monday, April 11, 2011 at 1 p.m. (PT); 2 p.m. (MT); 3 p.m. (CT); 4 p.m. (ET). The focus of the session will be on submitting an evidence-based practice or scientific research poster. Specific instruction on the application process will be provided. (The replay of this event will be available after April 13, 2011).

Part 4 in the series, "Using Evidence-Based Research in Clinical Practice," will be held on Thursday, May 12, 2011 at 1 p.m. (PT); 2 p.m. (MT); 3 p.m. (CT); 4 p.m. (ET). This final program on evidence based practice will focus on using research findings in everyday practice. Strategies for successful implementation as well as recognized barriers will be discussed. (The replay of this event will be available after May 14, 2011).

Replays of the two previous events in this series are now available. Part 1 in the series, "Introduction to Evidence-Based Practice," introduced three methods for using evidence in nursing practice. Evidence-based practice, scientific research, and quality improvement projects was defined within the context of refining and generating new knowledge and the implementation of safe and effective nursing care. Levels of evidence and the evidence rank process were introduced.

Part 2 in the series, "Reviewing Evidence for Practice," explored the use of meta-analyses and systematic reviews for determining the best evidence related to changes in practice, including how to identify and work with electronic databases.

To access replays of Parts 1 and 2, and to register for Parts 3 and 4, visit: http://www.aorn.org/Education/Webinars/evidencebasedwebinarseries/

AORN is provider-approved by the California Board of Registered Nursing, Provider Number CEP 13019.

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish