IIPW Webinar to Focus on Hand Hygiene

Kicking off the 2013 International Infection Prevention Week (IIPW), Oct. 20-26, the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) will offer a webinar on the World Health Organization's First Global Patient Safety Challenge Clean Care is Safer Care. IIPW provides a focal point for healthcare professionals, consumers, organizations, and industry partners to shine a light on infection prevention and its power to save lives in both developed and developing countries around the world.
 
Launched in 2005, the World Health Organization First Global Patient Safety Challenge Clean Care is Safer Care fosters partnerships and nationally- coordinated activities to reduce infections through improved hand hygiene in healthcare worldwide. By 2013, 132 of 194 United Nations' members' states had pledged their support to implement actions to reduce hospital infections, corresponding to 93% coverage of the world population.  Between 2009 and 2013, more than 15,000 hospitals from 169 countries joined its sister initiative SAVE LIVES: Clean Your Hands. The next challenge is to convince and mobilize the private sector, governments, and patients to join forces with the potential to save millions of lives each year.

The webinar will be held on Oct. 22, 2013 at 11 a.m. EDT, 10 a.m. CDT, 9 a.m. MDT, 8 a.m. PDT. The speaker is Didier Pittet MD, MS.             

The learning objectives are:
- Discuss the importance of infection prevention and the key role of hand hygiene in both developed and developing countries
- Emphasize the feasibility of the WHO multimodal implementation strategy for hand hygiene promotion across all settings and cultures
- Highlight barriers to infection control and how to overcome the barriers
- Encourage the inclusion of patient participation in multimodal hand hygiene promotion strategies
 
To register, visit: http://webinars.apic.org/session.php?id=11505

Hide comments

Comments

  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
Publish