2014 Decontaminator of the Year Award and the Robert Hilbodt Award are Presented

June 10, 2014

Mary Velasco is presented the Decontaminator of the Year Award by Healthmark Industries.

Ray Taurasi is presented the Robert Hilbodt Award by MSHCSP president Wilma Wilder.

At the recent Michigan Society of Hospital Central Service Personnel (MSHCSP) Conference held in Sterling Heights, Mich., Healthmark Industries announced that Mary Velasco is the winner of the IAHCSMM’s 2014 Anne Cofiell Decontaminator of the Year Award. Velasco is the CSSD manager at Henry Ford Macomb Hospital and has more than 35 years of experience in the sterile processing field, including as past-president of MSHCSP.

Sponsored by Healthmark Industries, the Anne Cofiell Decontaminator of the Year Award is given out annually by IAHCSMM. This award recognizes an individual that demonstrates exceptional understanding of the importance of decontamination in their workplace environment. The winner receives $1,000 toward expenses to attend the annual IAHCSMM Conference and also receives a commemorative plaque.

Also during the MSCHCSP Conference, Ray Taurasi was presented the Robert Hilbodt Award. The award is named for one of the founding members of the association and is MSHCSP’s way of recognizing industry leaders who have contributed significantly not just to the profession of sterile processing, but also to the Michigan Society.

Taurasi is the Eastern regional director of clinical sales and services for Healthmark Industries. His healthcare career spans over three decades as an administrator, educator, technologist and consultant. His dedication to the healthcare field and community service has won him international recognition and several prestigious awards and a mayoral proclamation of "Ray Taurasi Day" in the city of Boston.

Source: Healthmark Industries Co., Inc.