Cheryl Wolf Elected to OSAP Board

ANNAPOLIS, Md. -- Cheryl Wolf, CDA, BS, has been elected to the association board of the Organization for Safety & Asepsis Procedures (OSAP).  She is the faculty and distance learning course developer at Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte, N.C.  Wolf joined OSAP in 1996 and has served the organization on committees as a speaker and as a participant in special projects. She replaces Dr. Claire Pagliara, who resigned when she was deployed aboard the USNS Comfort during the Katrina disaster. 

Wolf received her B.S. degree in health science education from New York State University at Buffalo in 1980 and has since enjoyed a 25-year teaching career. In addition to her B.S. degree, Wolf obtained an AA degree in social work from Daytona Beach Community College and an AA degree in dental assisting technology from Western Wisconsin Technical College. 

Wolf is a certified dental assistant, as well as a North Carolina DA-II who has taught all courses related to dental assisting.  She has served on the board of trustees for the Health Center For Teens & Young Adults and for Community Health Services; she is a past president of North Carolinas Dental Assisting Educators Association; she is a former advisor on Johnson & Johnsons infection control advisory panel; and she is a past member of North Carolinas Department of Community Colleges OSHA Policy and Procedures Committee.

The 2005-2006 OSAP board of directors consists of Andy Whitehead of Crosstex International (chairman), Linda Basquill, DDS (chair elect and secretary), George Gatseos II, DDS, MSBA of the University of Colorado School of Dentistry (treasurer), Barry Hammarback of DentaPure (immediate past chairman), Therese M. Long, MBA, CAE (executive director ex-officio), Curtis Hamann, MD of SmartHealth, Inc., Charles Hughes of SPSmedical, John M.G. Hunt, OBE FFGDP(UK), BDS, and Cheryl Miller of Hu-Friedy. 

Members of the board of the OSAP Foundation, an educational foundation that supports education, research, service and policy development to promote safety and the control of infectious diseases in dental care settings, include Shira Kramer, PhD, of Sterilex Corp. (acting chairman), George Gatseos II, DDS, MSBA of the University of Colorado School of Dentistry (treasurer), Linda Basquill, DDS (secretary), A. Enrique Acosta-Gio, DDS, PhD of the National University of Mexico Dental School, and Therese M. Long, MBA, CAE (executive director ex-officio).

OSAP, founded in 1984, is a non-profit association and dentistry's premier resource for infection control and safety information. 

Source: OSAP