AOHP Recognizes 2018 Award Winners

The Association of Occupational Health Professionals in Healthcare (AOHP) announces the winners of its annual recognition program for leaders and innovators in the field of occupational health in healthcare. The award winners were formally recognized on Sept. 7, 2018 at the AOHP Annual National Conference in Glendale, Ariz. 

"As a world-class leader for occupational health and safety in healthcare, AOHP is excited to recognize individuals and organizations that actively promote the advanced practice specialty of occupational health, as well as the health, safety, and well-being of healthcare workers," says AOHP executive president Mary Bliss. "We are honored to present each of our winners with these awards, because healthy workers lead to healthy patients and a healthier community."

Awards presented at the 2018 AOHP Annual National Conference, and their recipients, include:

Ann Stinson President’s Award for Association Excellence – Named for the third president of AOHP, it recognizes a chapter which has demonstrated outstanding performance and enhanced the image of occupational health professionals. This year’s winner is the AOHP CA Northern Chapter.

Business Recognition Award – Acknowledges a healthcare organization, business, corporation, or government agency which actively supports occupational health professionals in healthcare and encourages their participation in AOHP programs and activities. Three winners were recognized this year:  

•    Bon Secours Richmond Employee Wellness Services operates six offices with a staff of 40 and provides care across a continuum for approximately 9,000 employees in five hospitals and more than 120 physician practices, diagnostic, and ambulatory facilities. 

•    Children's Mercy Kansas City promotes a culture of safety and wellness through an array of services that: provide convenient access to primary, preventive, and behavioral healthcare; support well-being; promote fitness; manage immunizations/vaccinations; and prioritize safety concerns.

•    Northwell Health Employee Health Services comprises 11 offices that provide comprehensive occupational health services to 66,000 employees in the Northwell Health system of 22 hospitals and more than 450 ambulatory locations across the New York area. 

Executive Board Extraordinary Services Award - AOHP member Cory Worden, PhD Candidate, MS, CSP, CSHM, CHSP, ARM, REM, CESCO, was recognized by the board by unanimous special vote for his many and varied leadership roles and dedicated work with AOHP. Cory was recognized for his “once in 100 yrs.” like contributions to AOHP.

Julie Schmid Research Scholarship - To encourage, promote, and strengthen the knowledge base and expertise of occupational health professionals in healthcare, AOHP presents this award for an original research project on a current or anticipated issue in the field. Award winner Terry Grimmond, FASM, BAgrSc, GDAdEd&Tr, Director of Grimmond & Assoc., will present his research – Use and Activation of Safety Engineered Sharps Devices in a Sample of 20 U.S. Hospitals - in an upcoming issue of the AOHP Journal.  

Joyce Safian Scholarship Award - Named for the founder of the association, this award, including a monetary stipend to be used for educational purposes, is presented annually to a current or former AOHP officer. This year's winner is Liesel Short, RN, BSN, COHN-s, Vice-President AOHP California Northern Chapter.

Sandra Bobbitt Scholarships - These awards provide financial support for continuing education efforts of members. This year's four award recipients are: Pamela Carey-Goo, RN, CA Southern Chapter; Corrie Courtney, MPH, BSN, RN, Heart of America Chapter; Eric Shirey, RN, APNS, OHN, CCHP-RN, Pacific Northwest Chapter; and Liz Tullis, RN, MSN, Pacific Northwest Chapter.

Source: AOHP