APIC Announces 2012 Leadership and Election Results

The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) announces that Michelle Farber, RN, CIC, a Minnesota professional with three decades of experience in infection prevention, is the 2012 president. Farber has held numerous positions within APIC; she was nominated as president-elect in 2010 and will now serve as 2012 APIC president.

Presently an infection preventionist with Mercy Community Hospital in Coon Rapids, Minn., Farber has been working in infection prevention and control for 31 years in both long-term and acute care facilities. She has served APIC for more than 28 years in many capacities, including chair of both the Minnesota chapter and the APIC Conference Committees, chair of the APIC Scientific Abstract Selection Committee, and president, treasurer, and membership director of Minnesota chapter 18. She was recognized for those years of service by her chapter with the 2006 Minnesota Distinguished Service Award and 2007 National Chapter Leadership Award. Most recently, she served on the APIC Board of Directors and as liaison to the Certification Board of Infection Control and Epidemiology, Inc., (CBIC). She has served on additional APIC committees, including Communications, Education, Audit and Finance, Staffing Task Force, Ambulatory Care and Behavioral Health sections, and also participated as APICs representative for the 5th Decennial International Conference on Healthcare-Associated Infections.

Here are the results of APICs recent election:

Patti Grant, RN, BSN, MS, CIC, has been elected president-elect, a position she will hold until January 2013, at which time she will become APIC president. Grant is director of infection prevention and quality at Methodist Hospital for Surgery in Addison, Texas.

Linda Greene, RN, MPS, CIC, has been elected to serve a two-year term as secretary. Greene is director of infection prevention for Rochester General Health System in Rochester, New York.

Board of Directors
The following APIC members have been elected or re-elected to serve on the APIC Board of Directors for a two-year term beginning in January 2012:
-Vickie Brown, RN, MPH, CIC, is associate director, hospital epidemiology at University of North Carolina Health Care in Chapel Hill, N.C.
- Linda Goss, MSN, APRN, ANP-BC, CIC, COHN-S, is director of infection prevention and the vascular access specialist team at the University of Louisville Hospital in Louisville, Ky.
- Mary Lou Manning, PhD, CRNP, CIC, is associate professor and director of the Doctor of Nursing Practice Program at the Thomas Jefferson University, School of Nursing in Philadelphia, Pa.
- Connie Steed, RN, MSN, CIC, returning for a second term, is director of infection prevention at the Greenville Hospital System University Medical Center in Greenville, SC.
- Sharon Williamson, MT(ASCP)SM, CIC, is infection prevention manager at Texas Health Presbyterian Dallas in Dallas, Texas.
- Carole Guinane, RN, MBA, elected as an external director, is vice president for ASC Clinical Operations at Novant Healthcare, Inc., in Charlotte, N.C.

Other members continuing on the APIC board of directors in 2012 include:
- Russell Olmsted, MPH, CIC , immediate past president
- Jennie Mayfield, BSN, MPH, CIC, treasurer
- Linda Burton, RN, BSN, CIC, director
- Neil Pascoe, RN, BSN, CIC, director
- Jolynn Zeller, RN, BS, CIC, director
- Clifton Orme, MBA, external director

Nominating and Awards Committee

The following APIC members were elected to serve on the Nominating and Awards Committee:
- Loretta Litz Fauerbach, MS, CIC, is director of infection prevention and control at Shands Hospital at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Fla.
- Stephen Streed, MS, CIC, is system director, epidemiology/infection control at HealthPark Medical Center in Fort Myers, Fla.