APIC Announces Recipient of 2012 Elaine Larson Lectureship Award

The Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) announces that William Rutala, MS, MPH, PhD, CIC, has been selected as the recipient of the 2012 Elaine Larson Lectureship Award.

Presented annually by APICs board of directors, the award honors the individual best able to present a lecture on the state of the science of infection prevention or healthcare epidemiology in the area for which he or she has been a major contributor over a lifetime of pursuit.

A world-renowned expert on disinfection and sterilization, Rutala is a professor for the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of North Carolina's (UNC) School of Medicine, and serves as the director of Hospital Epidemiology, Occupational Health and Safety Program at the University of North Carolina Health Care System. He is also director and co-founder of the statewide program for Infection Control and Epidemiology at the UNC School of Medicine and a retired Colonel with the U.S. Army Reserve.

Rutala will be delivering a lecture during the opening session of the APIC 2012 annual conference, June 4-6, 2012 in San Antonio, Texas. In addition, he will present workshops for conference attendees on disinfection and sterilization.

Rutala has authored more than 450 publications, and was a lead author for the Centers for Disease Control and Preventions Guideline for Disinfection and Sterilization in Healthcare Facilities. He has delivered more than 300 lectures at state, national, and international conferences, and has testified twice before the U.S. Congress.

APIC is proud to honor Dr. Rutala with this special award to recognize his important contribution to the field of infection prevention, says APIC 2012 president Michelle Farber, RN, CIC. Simply put, Dr. Rutala is the authority on disinfection and sterilization practices, and his work has had a significant and lasting impact on patient safety.

Elaine Larson Lectureship Award candidates must be recognized experts who have created, delivered or promoted an infection control and epidemiology service that has influenced public perception, attitudes and awareness. Candidates must also show evidence of outstanding and significant contribution and demonstrate excellence toward the science of infection control and epidemiology research, education, administration or clinical practice.