Healthmark Industries Announces the 2013 Decontaminator of the Year Award

Healthmark Industries announces that Jhosue Vasquez is the winner of the 2013 Decontaminator of the Year Award. Vasquez is a CSSD technician at the Mount Auburn Hospital in Cambridge, Mass. He has 10 years of experience in the sterile processing field.

The Decontaminator of the Year Award is given out annually by Healthmark Industries. This award recognizes an individual that demonstrates exceptional understanding of the importance of decontamination in their workplace environment. The winner receives $1,000 toward expenses to attend the annual IAHCSMM conference and also receives an engraved plaque.

This award was established in honor of Anne Cofiell, CRCST, FCS. Cofiell was an active member of IAHCSMM until her retirement in 2006. She served as the IAHCSMM representative to AAMI where she chaired numerous working groups. She also authored many articles and spoke on CSSD topics at IAHCSMM conferences and at numerous educational programs around the country. She was well connected in Washington D.C. and was an advocate on behalf of the CSSD industry for the regulation of reuse of single-use devices to include the importance of proper cleaning instructions.

Source: Healthmark Industries Co., Inc.