OSAP Announces Recipients of Infection Control Leadership Awards


The Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP), a community of clinicians, educators, consultants, researchers, and industry representatives who advocate for the Safest Dental Visit™, announces the recipients of the annual OSAP Infection Control Leadership Awards and introduce a new Exhibitor Award. The OSAP Awards were presented at the Annual Infection Control Conference held in May.

“Every year, OSAP recognizes a few special individuals by giving awards. These awards represent our appreciation for all these individuals do within the organization and for advancing safety and infection control in the profession,” says Eve Cuny, co-chair for this year’s OSAP annual conference. “OSAP has always been an organization that values its many volunteers, and, in addition to the awards for which individuals are nominated and selected by the board, the chair of OSAP also awards special recognition to a few of the volunteers that have gone above and beyond all expectations to make a difference for the organization.”

22nd Annual Dr. James J. Crawford Award: James A. Cottone, DMD, MS
This award recognizes lifetime achievement in the field. Cottone is a globally recognized leader in dental infection control and a long-time advocate of infection control research and education. He was one of the founding members of OSAP, for which he served as chairman and contributed greatly to the strategic direction of the association.

18th Annual Dr. Milton Schaefer Award: Eve Cuny, MS
This award celebrates superior service to the organization, recognizing either continuous contributions over a period of time or singular accomplishments. Eve Cuny serves as Director of Environmental Health and Safety, Assistant Dean for Global Relations, and an associate professor at University of the Pacific Dugoni School of Dentistry in San Francisco, California. She is a consultant to the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs and an expert reviewer to the CDC. Cuny has published numerous articles and textbook chapters on safety and infection control and presented hundreds of continuing education programs domestically and internationally.

5th Annual Emerging Infection Control Leader Award: Joyce Moore, RDH, BSDH, CRCST
The goal for the Emerging Leaders Award is to help develop and promote the next generation of stars in the field of dental infection prevention and safety by identifying outstanding new infection control advocates. Joyce Moore is a clinical instructor in the Department of Dental Hygiene at Bristol Community College in Fall River, Massachusetts. As a speaker and consultant, she has worked with professional associations, independent dental practices, and medical facilities. In addition, she is a clinical educator for the Midmark Corporation.

16th Annual Bette & Paul Schwartz Award: Liliana Junqueira de P. Donatelli, MPH
This award is named in honor of a couple who personify the spirit of volunteerism for the organization and recognizes an outstanding volunteer from the previous year’s conference. Liliana Junqueira de P. Donatelli has been a proud member of OSAP since 2010. She is also responsible for the Brazilian page in the international section of the OSAP website. Donatelli’s contributions to magazine articles have led to her being recognized as one of Brazil’s infection control leaders in dentistry.

Chairman’s Citation Awards
OSAP Chairman Kathy Eklund, presented special citations to these individuals who enriched the organization by contributing a unique blend of talents, skills, hard work, and unwavering commitment to the advancement of dental safety.

Laura Bretz
Eve Cuny, MS
Matthew Ellis, MPH, CIC, REHS
Karen Gregory, RN
Michelle Lee, CPC
Therese Long, MBA, CAE
Ashley MacDermott, MPH, CHES
Kelli Mack, DDS
Emily Robinson, MA
Andy Whitehead
Tara Zeravsky, CMP

Source: Organization for Safety, Asepsis and Prevention (OSAP) 

Related Videos
Medical investigators going over data. (AdobeStock 589197902 by Wasan)
CDC logo is seen on a laptop. (Adobe Stock 428450603 by monticellllo)
Association for the Health Care Environment (Logo used with permission)
COVID-19 germs, fungi, bacteria objects. (Adobe Stock 584704860 by chawalit)
Ambassador Deborah Birx, , speaks with Infection Control Today about masks in schools and the newest variant.
mRNA technology  (Adobe Stock 485886181 by kaptn)
Ambassador Deborah Birx, MD
Woman lying in hospital bed (Adobe Stock, unknown)
Photo of a model operating room. (Photo courtesy of Indigo-Clean and Kenall Manufacturing)
Related Content