Proventix Accepting Lathem Physician Leadership Award in Hand Hygiene Nominations for 2013


Proventix Systems, Inc. announces the call for nominations for the annual Lathem Physician Leadership Award in Hand Hygiene. Proventix created the Lathem Award to recognize physicians worldwide who demonstrate excellence and leadership in hand hygiene.

Hand hygiene compliance is widely accepted as the most effective means of reducing the occurrence of healthcare-associated infections (HAIs). Studies indicate that sustained improvements in hand hygiene are attainable with the help of active leadership engagement. Harvey Nix , CEO and founder of Proventix, created the Lathem Award based on the proven success of physician-led initiatives that improved hand hygiene within their facilities. The Lathem Award recognizes physicians who deliver high-quality, compassionate care to their patients by demonstrating proper hand hygiene practices, maintaining personal compliance and providing vocal and active leadership.

The award is named in honor of Dr. Mickey Lathem, a physician and parent of a child who contracted an HAI during surgery. After his personal experience, Lathem began advocating hand hygiene and promoting a heightened awareness among all health care providers.

"I'm thrilled and honored to be the namesake for this initiative," says Lathem. "Research supports the understanding that physician-led quality improvement efforts significantly reduce adverse outcomes and help sustain compliance among caregivers. Hand hygiene is such a simple thing. As physicians, we can be leaders."

Clinical quality leaders Drs. Atul Guwande and Peter Pronovost have demonstrated that it is possible to improve outcomes through standardized processes and the collaborative efforts of healthcare workers. "Hand hygiene is simple, but it requires dedication," says Nix. "To improve compliance, healthcare workers need a consistent and accurate method of measuring hand hygiene for timely feedback. Proventix wants to help physician leaders create a culture of patient safety in their hospitals."

2012 Winners include Dr. Scott James, infectious disease/virology specialist at UAB Hospital in Birmingham, Ala., Dr. William O'Byrne, anesthesiologist at UAB Hospital in Birmingham, Ala., Dr. Tracy Osborne, internal medicine and infectious disease specialist at TriStar Southern Hills Medical Center in Nashville, Tenn., Dr. Blal Zafar, hospitalist at River Park Hospital in McMinnville, Tenn., Dr. Ty Hughston, internal medicine specialist at Shannon Medical Center in San Angelo, Texas; and Dr. Michael Darville, clinical director of the ICU at Doctors Hospital in Nassau, Bahamas.

The award nomination form is available at until May 17, 2013. Lathem Award winners will be announced in conjunction with the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) annual conference in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. in June. 

Source: Proventix Systems, Inc.

Related Videos
Rare Disease Month: An Infection Control Today® and Contagion® collaboration.
Lucy S. Witt, MD, investigates hospital bed's role in C difficile transmission, emphasizing room interactions and infection prevention
Chikungunya virus, 3D illustration. Emerging mosquito-borne RNA virus from Togaviridae family that can cause outbreaks of a debilitating arthritis-like disease   (Adobe Stock 126688070 by Dr Microbe)
Ambassador Deborah Birx, , speaks with Infection Control Today about masks in schools and the newest variant.
Woman lying in hospital bed (Adobe Stock, unknown)
Deborah Birx, MD
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention  (Adobe Stock, unknown)
CDC (Adobe Stock, unknown)
Inside Track with Infection Control Today
Related Content