ASHES Award Applications and Nominations are Due July 15

The American Society for Healthcare Environmental Services (ASHES) provides

Several awards programs to recognize those who are setting the standard and raising

the bar for the healthcare environmental services profession. The awards will be

presented at the ASHES annual conference in Phoenix on Sept. 28, 2005 during the "A Night with JaniKing" Awards Banquet.  The following award applications and nominations are due July 15, 2005.


-- The Phoenix Award recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions

to the growth and professionalism of the society and the field of environmental



-- The J. Owen Flynn Memorial Award is presented to one who, without compensation,

performs services to the benefit of their hospital, community, state, or country.


-- The James Wolffbrandt Mentor Award recognizes an individual who has made a

selfless commitment of their time and expertise to mentor professionals in the field of environmental services.


-- The Environmental Stewardship Award is presented to an individual who has worked

to preserve our environment through waste reduction, pollution prevention and/or

mercury elimination.


-- The Innovator Award is bestowed upon an individual who has developed new

and improved methods of achieving cost reduction, quality improvement and enhanced



-- The Recognition Program Award recognizes a member who has developed and

implemented a successful employee recognition program.


-- The Scholarship Award provides a limited number of Certified Healthcare

Environmental Service Professional exam scholarships.


-- The Excellence in Communication Award recognizes affiliated societies that

have excelled in their efforts to communicate with their members, the community,

national ASHES, and other affiliated societies.


-- The Excellence in Education Award recognizes affiliated societies that

have made a commitment to providing educational opportunities to environmental services professionals.


-- The Networking for Professionalism Award recognizes individual affiliated

societies that have accomplished a 10 percent or greater growth in membership over the previous year.


 Full award descriptions, criteria, and online and printable nomination forms

are available at 


Source: ASHES