National Awards Program Recognizes Outstanding Efforts During 2010-2011 Influenza Season

Recognizing the value and extraordinary contributions of individuals and organizations towards improved adult, adolescent and/or childhood influenza vaccination rates within their communities during the 2010-2011 influenza season, the National Influenza Vaccine Summit announces the recipients of the 2011 NIVS Immunization Excellence Awards. The awards will be presented during the National Influenza Vaccine Summit in San Diego, May 10, 2011. 

There are four categories of recognition including overall season activities, healthcare personnel campaign, immunization coalitions/public health/community campaign and corporate campaign. Nominees were evaluated based on the areas of impact, collaboration, originality, overcoming challenges and opportunities.

More than 35 nomination packets describing innovative programs were received this year. The Summit applauds all stakeholders who are working towards improving the health of their communities. The 2011 NIVS Immunization Excellence Award winners are as follows:

Overall Season Activities

National Winner:  Walgreens  (Deerfield, IL) Honorable Mention: Chicago Department of Health (CDPH)  (Chicago, IL)

Healthcare Personnel Campaign

National Winner: Virginia Mason Medical Center (VMMC) (Seattle, WA) Honorable Mention: Emory Healthcare (Atlanta, GA)

Immunization Coalitions/Public Health/Community Campaign

National Winner: Protecting Alachua County From Flu (Gainesville, FL) Honorable Mention: Northern Nevada Immunization Coalition (NNIC) (Reno, NV)

Corporate Campaign

National Winner: American Lung Association's Rostros de la gripe (New York, NY) Honorable Mention: Joint Commission Resources (JCR) (Oakbrooke Terrace, IL) The awards program and description of the winners can be found at