AORN Elects New Officers

CHICAGO -- New officers and members of the board of directors of the Association of periOperative Registered Nurses (AORN) were elected at the association's 50th annual Congress in Chicago, held March 23-27, 2003.

The 2003 to 2004 officers are.

President: Betty J. Shultz, RN, CNOR, president and perioperative educator, Westlake, Ohio.

President-elect: William J. Duffy, RN, BSN, MJ, CNOR, assistant vice president of perioperative services, Evanston, Ill.

Vice-president: Michelle Burke, RN, MSA, CNOR, administrative director of perioperative services, New York.

Secretary: Sharon A. McNamara, RN, MSN, CNOR, director of surgical services, Buffalo, NY.

Treasurer: Paula R. Graling, RN, MSN, CNOR, clinical nurse specialist in perioperative services, Falls Church, Va.

AORN Board of Directors members for 2003 to 2004 (*Newly elected) are

Susan K. Banschbach*, RN, BSN, CNOR, director of surgery services, Tulsa, Okla;

Lorraine J. Butler, RN, BSN, MSA, CNOR, vice president of perioperative services, New Brunswick, NJ;

Charlotte L. Guglielmi, RN, BSN, CNOR, perioperative educator, Boston;

Pat Hickey*, RN, BSN, MS, CNOR, director of performance improvement, Columbia, SC;

Kathleen A. O'Toole*, RN, BS, BSN, CNOR, director of perioperative services, Highland Park, Ill;

Mary Jo W. Steiert*, RN, CNOR, gynecological OR staff nurse, Englewood, Colo; and

Nathalie F. Walker, RN, BS, CNOR, clinical RN II, Metairie, La.

The members of the 2003-2004 AORN Nominating Committee are

Rhonda L. Anders*, RN, BSN, CNOR, Indianapolis;

Michelle M. Byrne, RN, MS, PhD, CNOR, Marietta, Ga;

Jane H. Flowers, RN, MSN, CNOR, Salisbury, Md;

Armando Riera, RN, BSN, CNOR, Miami; and

Deborah G. Spratt*, RN, MPA, CNAA, CNOR, Rochester, NY.

Serving as advisor is immediate past President, Donna S. Watson, RN, MSN, CNOR, ARNP, FNP-C.