APIC 2013 Award Winners are Announced

Today the Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology (APIC) announced the award winners for four of its prestigious honors given at the 2013 APIC annual conference taking place June 8-10, 2013.

The Heroes of Infection Prevention award honors 12 outstanding infection preventionists across the globe who have successfully reduced infection, raised awareness, and improved the health and well-being of patients, healthcare workers, and the public. Winners this year hail from Hawaii, Illinois, New York, Minnesota, New Mexico, Indiana, California, Michigan, Maryland, India, and Oregon.

The Carole DeMille Award is given to an infection preventionist (IP) who best exemplifies the ideals of Carole DeMille, a pioneer in the field.  The winner this year is Candace Friedman, BS, MT (ASCP), MPH, CIC of Ann Arbor, Mich.

The first recipient of the Distinguished Scientist Award will be given to Elaine Larson, PhD, RN, FAAN, CIC, of New York, N.Y. This award will be given annually to an infection preventionist who has made a significant and sustained contribution to infection prevention science and who exemplifies scholarly excellence and IP leadership within the scientific community.

The Healthcare Administrator Award will be given to John Calderone, PhD, CEO at Olympia Medical Center in Los Angeles for making infection prevention and control a top priority throughout his facility.

Source: APIC