IAHCSMM Announces 2014 Award Recipients

Each year, the International Association of Healthcare Central Service Materiel Management (IAHCSMM) honors Central Service professionals who demonstrate outstanding leadership, knowledge, service, and skill in the CS profession. Many highly qualified candidates submitted nominations for the 2014 Awards. Upon careful review by the IAHCSMM executive board, the following individuals have been selected as the 2014 IAHCSMM Award recipients:

Educator of the Year
Sheryl Perry Eder, RN, MSN, CNOR, CRCST
SPD Nurse Educator/Training Specialist
Bay Pines Veterans Affairs Healthcare System
Bay Pines, FL

Technician Achievement Award
Grace Williams, CRCST
SPD Coordinator/Team Leader
Gulf Breeze Hospital
Gulf Breeze, FL

CS Supervisor/Manager of the Year
Spencer Duncan, CRCST
Central Sterile Supervisor
Bailey Medical Center
Owasso, OK

Golden Slipper Award for Service Excellence
Erica Meeks, CRCST
SP Supervisor
Casper Surgical Center
Casper, WY

Decontaminator of the Year
Mary Velasco, CRCST
Manager, Surgical Service, SPD & EQC
Henry Ford Macomb Hospital
Clinton Township, MI

Confidence Builder Award
HIMA San Pablo Caguas
Central Supply Department
Caguas, Puerto Rico

Sanford Health, Fargo
Surgical CSPD
Fargo, ND

Purdue University Scholarship Awards

Central Service Technician Training Course
Julie Helderman
Good Samaritan Hospital
Vincennes, IN

Central Service Management/Supervisor Course
Amatullah Karriem-Campbell
CarePoint Health/Christ Hospital
Jersey City, NJ

Chapter of the Year

Large Chapter
Massachusetts Chapter for Central Service Professionals

Small Chapter
Ohio Buckeye Central Service Association

The official presentation of awards will occur during the 2014 IAHCSMM Annual Conference and Expo, May 4-7, 2014, in Columbus, Ohio.