IAHCSMM Names 2019 Award Recipients

Through its awards program, the International Association of Healthcare Central Service Materiel Management (IAHCSMM) honors central service/sterile processing (CS/SP) professionals each year who demonstrate exceptional leadership, dedication and service in the CS/SP discipline.

Many qualified candidates submitted nominations for the 2019 IAHCSMM Awards. The IAHCSMM board of directors name the following as this year’s award recipients:

CS Leadership Award
Elizabeth Kanzler, CRCST
Director of Materials Management
Community Health Network
Indianapolis, Ind.

Decontaminator of the Year Award
Sunny Vestal, MS, CST, CRCST, CIS, CHL, CER
Regional Manager of Sterile Processing Services
Baylor Scott & White Medical Center
Temple, Texas

Golden Slipper for Service Excellence Award
Teresa Young, CRCST, CER, BLS
Endoscopy Technician 
Indiana University Health
Indianapolis, Ind

Technician Achievement Award
Ellen Mushock, CRCST, CIS, CHL, CER
Certified Registered Medical Supply Technician
Department of Veterans Affairs – Eastern Kansas Health Care System
Topeka, Kan.

Chapter of the Year Award
Large Chapter: Pacific Northwest Chapter Central Service Supply Department Professionals
Medium Chapter: Western Wisconsin Chapter of IAHCSMM
Small Chapter: Grand Canyon Chapter

The official presentation of awards will take place during the 2019 IAHCSMM Annual Conference and Expo, April 28-May 1, 2019, in Anaheim, Calif.